The Nest that Wren Built

Spring is in full force here at Halcyon. Birds are actively feeding their nestlings, and I know of a wren nest that has already fledged. Wren fledglings are definitely on my list of top 10 cutest things ever. So, I enjoyed reading The Nest that Wren Built by Randi Sonenshine and illustrated by Anne Hunter (Candlewick Press, 2020). Written in rhyme mimicking The House that Jack Built poem, Sonenshine takes the reader through nest building with a focus on the specific materials wrens like to add to their nests – I never knew about the spider sacs! – to eggs, hatchlings, and fledglings.

The illustrations are ink and colored pencils on tinted paper and are visually pleasing and informative. There is a partially illustrated glossary, which is a nice feature as well as a backmatter page that is also well-done. I love when I learn something new about wildlife.

Given the lyrical nature and repeated phrases throughout, this book could be fun for repeated readings with adult and child reading together. If read as a class exercise, it could be fun for students to come up with another page, for example, what happens if a predator is nearby, written in the same cadence.

As always, I hope sharing books like The Nest that Wren Built gets you and your young reader curious and excited to get out and explore. Happy Reading!

Leave a comment