I am Stuck

I hope your New Year has begun well and calmly. The beginning of a new year is a terrible time to feel stuck, but the feeling can happen to all of us no matter when in the year.  And for children, feeling stuck can be a difficult condition to navigate if it is a new experience for them or if solutions have never been modeled for them. That is why the book I am Stuck by Julia Mills (Clarion Books, 2023) is a great way to start the new year. It provides a silly story with a deeper meaning and some ways for children to cope when they are feeling stuck. Us adults can learn from it too.

In the story turtle is literally stuck. He is upside down and cannot seem to get back up. Several characters come by and offer advice, but no one sticks around. Their advice all comes from their own perspectives and none seem to really listen to turtle. Until possum comes around. Possum asks questions about how turtle is feeling, but most importantly he hangs around. I will not spoil the silly way that turtle gets unstuck, but I am pretty sure young readers will get a good laugh at how it happens.

The last page offers three simple suggestions anyone can try when they feel stuck. This book is a great starting point for adults to broach the subject if their young reader often has trouble with getting ‘unstuck.’ I found myself wondering what I do. Changing my activity from whatever is frustrating me is key and walking almost always works. Adults and children could share what works for them and make suggestions beyond the ones in the book. I am Stuck is literally and figuratively a great read. I hope you will check it out.

2 thoughts on “I am Stuck

Leave a comment